Mission & Operations
Mission & Operations

ACTEC Foundation Mission & Operations

The ACTEC Foundation promotes scholarship and education in trust, estate, tax, and related areas of the law by supporting scholarship to improve the law and by encouraging teaching, careers and life-long learning in the area. The Foundation also encourages civic engagement of individual Fellows of The American College of Trust and Estate Counsel through programs and activities that serve the general community.
Articles and Bylaws
The American College of Trust and Estate Counsel Foundation BYLAWS
(Amended and Restated as of October 23, 2016)

The American College of Trust and Estate Counsel Foundation
901 15th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005
A Delaware Nonprofit Nonstock Corporation

ACTEC Foundation Bylaws [PDF]

Foundation Policies, Practices, and Procedures Manual [PDF]

Audited Financial Statement
Fiscal Year-end April 30, 2018

Form 990

IRS Tax-Exempt Status
IRS Determination Letter – April 22, 2011

Conflict of Interests Policy
ACTEC Foundation Conflict of Interests Policy

Conflict Disclosure Form
ACTEC Conflict Disclosure Form

Officers and Directors

L. Henry Gissel, Jr.
LHG Consulting
19 E Briar Hollow Ln
Houston, TX, 77027-2919

Vice President
James M. Maddox
Maddox, Holloman & Moran, P.C.
205 E Bender Blvd Ste 150
Bender Plaza Office Complex
Hobbs, NM 88240-2336

James D. Spratt, Jr.
The Bowden Spratt Law Firm, P.C.
191 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 4400
Atlanta, Georgia30303-1741

Judith W. McCue
Chicago, Illinois

Susan L. Abbott
Goodwin Procter LLP
100 Northern Ave
Boston, MA 02210-1802

Elaine M. Bucher
777 S Flagler Dr Ste 500
West Palm Beach, FL 33401-6121

Stephanie B. Casteel
Wallace Morrison & Casteel LLP
1180 Peachtree St Ne Ste 2010
Atlanta, GA 30309-7525

P. Daniel Donohue
Davenport, Evans, Hurwitz & Smith, L.L.P.
206 W 14Th St
Sioux Falls, SD, 57104-6858

Erik Dryburgh
Adler & Colvin
235 Montgomery St Ste 1220
San Francisco, CA 94104-3103

David M. English
University of Missouri-Columbia School of Law
203 Hulston Hall
Columbia, MO 65211-4300

Theron E. Fry
Triplett, Woolf & Garretson, LLC
2959 N Rock Rd Ste 300
Wichita, KS, 67226-5100

Thomas P. Gallanis
University of Iowa College of Law
290 Boyd Law Building
Iowa City, IA, 52242-1113

Susan N. Gary
University of Oregon School of Law
1515 Agate St
Eugene, OR 97403-1303

Lynne K. Green
Brunini, Grantham, Grower & Hewes, PLLC
The Pinnacle Building
Suite 100
190 East Capitol Street
Jackson, Mississippi 39201

Joseph G. Hodges, Jr.
Attorney at Law
3955 E Exposition Ave Ste 300
Denver, CO, 80209-5032

Christopher B. Hunt
Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.
200 S 6Th St Ste 4000
Minneapolis, MN, 55402-1431

C. Kevin McCrindle
Law Offices of C. Kevin McCrindle
P.O. Box 928
607 Sycamore Street
Waterloo, Iowa 50704-0928

Barry A. Nelson
Nelson & Nelson, P.A.
Suite 118
2775 Sunny Isles Blvd.
Aventura, Florida 33160-4007

John T. Rogers, Jr.
Rogers Trust Law
350 South Grand Avenue, Suite 3500
Los Angeles, California 90071

Joshua S. Rubenstein
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
575 Madison Avenue
New York, New York 10022-2585

Margaret E. W. Sager
Heckscher, Teillon, Terrill & Sager, P.C.
100 Four Falls
Suite 300
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania 19428

Kathleen R. Sherby
Bryan Cave LLP
211 N Broadway Ste 3600
Saint Louis, MO, 63102-2726

Robert E. Temmerman, Jr.
Temmerman, Cilley & Kohlmann, LLP
2502 Stevens Creek Blvd
San Jose, CA 95128-1654

Melissa J. Willms
Davis & Willms, PLLC
3555 Timmons Ln Ste 1250
Houston, TX, 77027-6445

Richard D. Woods
Kirkland Woods & Martinsen PC
5901 College Boulevard, Suite 280
Overland Park, Kansas 66211

Foundation Committees

Foundation Executive Committee

  • L. Henry Gissel, Jr. (President), Houston, Texas
  • James M. Maddox (Vice President), Hobbs, New Mexico
  • James D. Spratt, Jr. (Treasurer), Atlanta, Georgia
  • Judith W. McCue (Secretary), Evanston, Illinois

Foundation Audit Committee

  • James D. Spratt, Jr. (Chair), Atlanta, Georgia
  • Stephanie B. Casteel, Atlanta, Georgia
  • P. Daniel Donohue, Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Foundation Financial Management Committee

  • John T. Rogers, Jr. (Chair), Los Angeles, California
  • James M. Maddox, Hobbs, New Mexico
  • Kathleen R. Sherby, Saint Louis, MO

Foundation Fundraising Committee

  • Margaret H. Hand, Orinda, CA
  • John A. Hartog, Orinda, CA
  • Barry A. Nelson, North Miami Beach, Florida
  • Joshua S. Rubenstein, New York, New York
  • Kurt A. Sommer, Santa Fe, NM
  • Robert E. Temmerman, Jr., San Jose, California

Foundation Grant Committee

  • Judith W. McCue (Chair), Evanston, Illinois
  • Erik Dryburgh, San Francisco, California
  • Professor David M. English, Columbia, Missouri
  • Theron E. Fry, Wichita, KS
  • Thomas P. Gallanis, Iowa City, Iowa
  • Professor Susan N. Gary, Eugene, Oregon
  • Professor William P. LaPiana, New York, New York
  • Peter T. Mott, Southport, Connecticut
  • Margaret E.W. Sager, West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
  • Kathleen R. Sherby, Saint Louis, MO
  • Melissa J. Willms, Houston, Texas

Foundation Long Range Planning Committee

  • Richard D. Woods (Chair), Overland Park, Kansas
  • Erik Dryburgh, San Francisco, California
  • L. Henry Gissel, Jr., Houston, Texas
  • T. Randolph Harris, New York, NY

Foundation Marketing & Communications Committee

  • C. Kevin McCrindle (Chair), Waterloo, Iowa
  • Elaine M. Bucher, West Palm Beach, Florida
  • Lynne K. Green, Jackson, Mississippi
  • Joseph G. Hodges, Jr., Denver, Colorado
  • Christopher B. Hunt, Minneapolis, MN

Foundation Nominating Committee

  • L. Henry Gissel, Jr. (Chair), Houston, Texas
  • Theron E. Fry, Wichita, Kansas
  • Joseph G. Hodges, Jr., Denver, Colorado
  • Christopher B. Hunt, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Melissa J. Willms, Houston, Texas

Foundation Special Projects Committee

  • Susan L. Abbott (Chair), Boston, Massachusetts

L. Henry Gissel
Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P.
1301 McKinney, Suite 5100
Houston, Texas 77010-3095


Executive Director
Deborah O. McKinnon

Membership and Foundation Management Director
Amy Michaud
(202) 684-8453

Finance Director
David Diedrich
(202) 688-0270

Marketing and Communications Director
Suzy Shaw
(202) 684-8460